Weekly Playlist

My weekly playlist consists of the top ten songs I always listen to for the past six or seven days (If you read my bio then you know I honestly replay them for more than 10 times). I am the type of person who has a varied taste of music, so I could be listening to Ed Sheeran right now and by the next second, I’m painstakingly banging my head and rocking out to BMTH. I also tend to listen to a lot of throwback music for three reasons: 1.) I miss my childhood (I’m talking about old Disney). 2.) I live under a rock that is also under another rock, meaning I have just discovered it. (He-he, you can laugh all you want). 3.) I just feel like listening to the songs I know the lyrics of.

This post also includes other songs that I listened to during the week. They will be categorized as: Girl Power Songs; Night Drives; Lonely Night Jam; Chill Pill; and Things I Could Never Say. I probably would just post 5 songs that are not included in my top 10.

So without further ado, let’s get this party started!

April 17-24, 2016-

TOP TEN SONGS

10. I hate u, I love u by gnash ft. Olivia O’Brien

32019653_800_800

This song hits me in the feels because I can totally relate to the girl’s part. You know the feeling when someone is singing and you just feel the need to reach out to him/her, pat his/her back, and say, dude it’s okay, i feel you. And you just want to hug that person because he/she is basically singing the theme song of your life? Yeah, that’s what I always feel whenever I listen to this song.

The boy’s part is the part I cannot relate to because I am certain my crush doesn’t feel the same way about me. #SadTruth. But it’s also a kind of wishful-thinking in my part! eh, never mind, scratch that out.

In summary, this song is about a girl crushing on someone who she thinks likes someone else, and she hates herself for that. Little does she know the guy also likes her.

Fave lines of the song:

I hate you, I love you.
I hate that I want you.
You want her, you need her
And I’ll never be her.

Always missing people I shouldn’t be missing
Sometimes you gotta burn some bridges just to create some distance

9. We Won’t by Jaymes Young ft. Phoebe Ryan

cs2800348-02a-big

This song is one of those many songs that make me think that I’m in a relationship, and make me feel like I’m heartbroken and troubled because of it. I don’t think it’s weird that I feel that way because that’s what music is supposed to do to you. You’re supposed to feel– as in really feel– what the lyrics are trying to say and where the tune is trying to take you.

I love this song. It makes me feel like I’m floating in a cloud of gray smoke with lonely heartbeats as the background music.

In summary, this song is about two people in a relationship where both of them know that they have finally reached the end of it. They want to fix it somehow, but who are they kidding? They know it’s not gonna work– nothing’s gonna work anymore–and they have already accepted that. No more convincing themselves that their relationship will still last.

Fave lines of the song:

‘Cause i’m so confused when we’re together
Feels like I’m choking these emotions
Don’t waste your time convincing me that maybe someday we’ll get it right
cause we never could, i wish that we would
but we won’t, so don’t

8. No by Meghan Trainor

meghan-trainor-no-2016

And Meghan Trainor does it again!! Pardon me as I continually shout “SLAY GIRL, SLAY” over here in my little space. This song is super catchy that makes you wanna do little crazy dance moves. This is a boost-your-confidence song. I could be parading down the halls anytime now while singing this and you have to blame Meghan for it.

There was one time when I was so focused on playing Cafe Land in Facebook, and then someone I don’t know chatted me. I replied courteously, of course, but then he started asking for my number and other personal-getting-to-know-you stuff. I immediately play this song, and I was like duude, i was in my zone before you came a long, and now everything is ruined. THIS. SONG. IS. MY. JAM.

Do you hear that?  Yeah, that’s me playing this song again and adding it to my Girl Power Songs playlist.

Fave lines of the song:

Call me beautiful, so original, telling me I’m not like other girls
I was in my zone before you came along, now I’m thinking maybe you should go
Blah, blah, blah, I be like nah to the ah to the no, no, no

7. 7 years by Lukas Graham

8edec200ad5e194bd372b19fbd5169eb-1000x1000x1

I couldn’t relate much to this song but it’s super catchy and refreshing that I find myself always having this on repeat.

Fave lines of the song:

I only see my goals, I don’t believe in failure
‘Cause I know the smallest voices, they can make it major

6. I Choose U by Timeflies

timeflies-i-choose-u-2013-1200x1200

This song is definitely a party song or a song you should listen to during night drives. I haven’t listened to this during a night drive yet but I’m already imagining, feeling it. Windows rolled down, hair all over the place, this music blasting on the speakers, good friends with you, shouting I CHOOSE YOU to random people you pass by.

Every time I listen to this song, especially at the part where the beat drops so good, I automatically turn into a crazy dancer: banging my head, rocking my arms to the beat, and basically feel like the most carefree person in the world–even just for a moment.

Fave lines of the song:

Bright eyes, sundress, Daddy’s little girl
She changed my life, but you changed my world
So don’t be scared of losing me
Cause I’m always choosing you

5. Once in a While by Timeflies

timeflies-once-in-a-while-2016-2480x2480

Another nightdrives-worthy song. This is a super chill and catchy song that makes you wanna dance to feel good–and you would feel good!

I would play this song in between stressful times. This is a good breather, makes you wanna release all your inhibitions.

Fave lines of the song:

But once in a while I feel like
I just wanna dance
I feel good, I feel good
Is anything forever or just a feeling?
What have I been so afraid of?
I don’t know

4. Cake by the Ocean by DNCE

1443739047208

This is another super catchy song that, well, caught my attention. I really love its beat, tone, quality of Joe Jonas’ voice. (Ha-Ha). This is a jam; it can totally make you feel good.

This is one of those songs that captured me by its everything except for its lyrics. I am guilty of this thing where the lyrics don’t make so much sense or have that deep of a meaning that can make you empathize with it and understand it right to the core, but it’s such a good song you can’t help but keep listening to it and jamming with it as soon as it’s playing on the radio.

Fave lines of the song:

eh, i have to pass.

3. Hide Away by Daya

maxresdefault1

Honestly, WHERE DO THE GOOD BOYS HIDEAWAY THESE DAYS?

Oh wait, probably at the friend zone? or they’re probably already in a relationship because, duh, of course it makes sense! Now who’s gonna keep me (a good girl) company these days? (HA-HA). My feminist side’s be like: YOU HAVE AMAZING GIRL FRIENDS or YOU CAN MAKE YOURSELF HAPPY, HECK YOU DON’T NEED AN ALADDIN TO SHOW YOU THE WORLD, YOU CAN SHOW YOURSELF THE WORLD THANK YOU VERY MUCH. YOU GO GIRL!

Fave lines of the song:

Boys seem to like the girls
Who laugh at anything
The ones who get undressed
Before the second date
Girls seem to like the boys
Who don’t appreciate
All the money and the time that it takes
To be fly as a mother
Got my both eyes out for Mr. Right
Guessing I just don’t know where to find ’em
But I hope they all come out tonight
I’m a good, good girl who needs a little company
But I’d rather find a boy
Who is down for the chase
Putting in the time that it takes
To be fly as a mother (Hey!)
To supply all of my heart’s demands

2. You’re Such A by Hailee Steinfeld

hailee-steinfeld-haiz

What’s that? What? Another Girl Power Song? HELL YEAH. You can never run out of girl power songs because who run the world– GIRLS!

I’ve been obsessed with this song for the whole week. I mean, literally obsessed to the point that I’ve almost researched everything about Hailee because of this. Plus she just recently visited our country, so that was a huge factor also.

This song is such a go-to song when you feel like someone is trying to insert her/himself again back to your now ordered life. Like dude, hello, this picture is already composed of well-fitted puzzle pieces, and where the hell am I supposed to put that deformed puzzle piece of yours? Ah yeah, exactly, buh-bye.

PS: to all you people who say Haiz can’t sing, well…SHE CAN SING. PRETTY WELL.

Fave lines of the song:

Cause you had your chance and you blew it
Yeah, you ripped it up and you chewed it
And the more you talk, you prove it
That damn, you’re such a
Difficult little Devil
Trying to put it back together
Cause you see I’m doing better
Without you now
You can take your lies to your next girlfriend
Cause I don’t wanna hear it anymore
And if you’re all that’s left when the whole world ends
No I still don’t wanna hear it anymore

1. Sit Still, Look Pretty by Daya

1500x1500sr

AND THE LAST BUT DEFINITELY NOT THE LEAST–BECAUSE THIS IS THE NUMBER ONE ?! ANOTHER GIRL POWER SONG RIGHT HERE AGAIN LADIES AND GENTLEMEN.

I had to do that on caps lock because I am really passionately in love with this song. I live for this song. It makes me feel good about being single and not feel the other way around like how I’ve been somehow feeling before.

This song is for all the girls who need to realize that they can rule the world if they only believe in themselves. THIS QUEEN DON’T NEED A KING lyrics is what I absolutely love.

Question: What’s a queen without a king?

Answer: Still a Queen.

In a world where society sets an impossible standard of what “beauty” is, this song is an eye opener for girls that they don’t have to try so hard to be someone they’re not just to be accepted and “loved” by others. Teenagers nowadays, especially the girls, are pressured at looking pretty so someone would take notice of them. Being in a relationship is a huge thing for others, like, they couldn’t last a year without having someone to make them feel needed and tell them they’re beautiful every single day. I’ve been that person, and I am so thankful for everything that has happened in my life that I finally realize that beauty isn’t everything, and that when someone tells you you’re pretty, is not really a big of a deal, because you’re just that. It’s more powerful and self-fulling if someone appreciates you because of something more. Telling a girl she has a lot or more to offer is, i think, a lot better than just telling her she’s pretty. So at least at that she knows she is capable of doing something more and relevant.

Yes, I have just recently discovered Daya and now I’m a huge fan. She has an amazing voice and to think that she’s already successful at the age of 17 is mind blowing! She absolutely deserves everything.

This is my top favorite song of the week. I love everything about it that’s why I put all the lyrics below as my “fave lines of the song.” Enjoy! 🙂

PS: Sitting still and looking pretty is such a tedious job! You’ll experience back pains– in the literal sense. haha. Go out to the world and live life more. Be a free spirit because you are one until society messed you up. So I say, be one again. I am also still trying to be one too! 🙂

Fave lines of the song:

Could dress up
To get love
But guess what?
I’m never gonna be that girl
Who’s living in a Barbie world
Could wake up
And make up,
And play dumb
Pretending that I need a boy
Who’s gonna treat me like a toy
I know the other girlies wanna wear expensive things
Like diamond rings
But I don’t wanna be the puppet that you’re playing on a string
This queen don’t need a king
Oh, I don’t know what you’ve been told
But this gal right here’s gonna rule the world
Yeah, that is where I’m gonna be because I wanna be
No, I don’t wanna sit still, look pretty
You get off on your 9 to 5
Dream of picket fences and trophy wives
But no, I’m never gonna be ’cause I don’t wanna be
No, I don’t wanna sit still look pretty
Mr. Right could be nice for one night
But then he wanna take control
And I would rather fly solo
Then Snow White
She did it right
In her life
Had 7 men to do the chores
‘Cause that’s not what a lady’s for
The only thing a boy’s gonna give a girl for free’s captivity
And I might love me some vanilla but I’m not that sugar sweet
Call me HBIC
Oh, I don’t know what you’ve been told
But this gal right here’s gonna rule the world
Yeah, that is where I’m gonna be, because I wanna be
No, I don’t wanna sit still, look pretty
You get off on your 9 to 5
Dream of picket fences and trophy wives
But no, I’m never gonna be, ’cause I don’t wanna be
No, I don’t wanna sit still look pretty
[2x]
Sure, I’m a pretty girl
Up in a pretty world
But they say pretty hurts
And I don’t wanna sit still
I’m a pretty girl
Up in a pretty world
But no, I won’t sit still, look pretty
Oh, I don’t know what you’ve been told
But this gal right here’s gonna rule the world
Yeah, that is where I’m gonna be because I wanna be
No, I don’t wanna sit still, look pretty
You get off on your 9 to 5
Dream of picket fences and trophy wives
But no, I’m never gonna be ’cause I don’t wanna be
No, I don’t wanna sit still look pretty
Oh, I don’t know what you’ve been told
But this gal right here’s gonna rule the world
Yeah, that is where I’m gonna be because I wanna be
No, I don’t wanna sit still, look pretty
You get off on your 9 to 5
Dream of picket fences and trophy wives
But no, I’m never gonna be ’cause I don’t wanna be
No, I don’t wanna sit still, look pretty
Sit still, look pretty [4x]

 

Hope you’ll enjoy listening to these songs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

